Scroll back to the top

2021-22 Fellows


Head shot of Edelmiro F. Escamilla Jr.

Dr. Edelmiro F. Escamilla Jr.
Higher Education Center at McAllen Administrative Fellow
Associate Instructional Professor, Department of Construction Science
Dr. Escamilla will work with the Higher Education Center at McAllen to recruit students from the Rio Grande Valley for a newly developed construction science program. He will also assist with the recruitment and professional development of new faculty in this program. His previous administrative experience includes serving as a member of the College of Architecture Diversity Council and serving on the Academic Civil Rights Investigation Committee and Middle States Commission on Higher Education Accreditation Reviewer. Dr. Escamilla is a Associate Instructional Professor and Program Coordinator of Construction Science at the Higher Education Center at McAllen.
Dr. Escamilla's fellowship is supported by ADVANCE.


Head Shot of Berna Hascakir

Dr. Berna Hascakir
College of Engineering Administrative Fellow
Associate Professor, Department of Petroleum Engineering

Dr. Hascakir will work with the College of Engineering on a new partnership program with TAMU-Qatar, designed to encourage and guide female Ph.D. students in the College of Engineering to complete part of their Ph.D. on the Qatar campus. Dr. Hascakir is recognized as a leader in her research area (Thermal Enhanced Oil Recovery Processes), and has served as a managing guest editor for three special issues of a very prestigious petroleum engineering journal (Journal of Petroleum Engineering and Science). Dr. Hascakir is currently directing the Heavy Oil, Oil Shales, Oil Sands, & Carbonate Analysis and Recovery Methods (HOCAM) research group, where her educational and industrial experience shapes her leadership while guiding her graduate students.

Dr. Hascakir's fellowship is supported by the College of Engineering.


Head Shot of Lizette Ojeda

Dr. Lizette Ojeda
Office for Diversity Administrative Fellow
Associate Professor, Department of Educational Psychology
Dr. Ojeda will work with the Office for Diversity in coordinating signature programs, such as the ACES Postdoctoral Fellows Program and the ADVANCE Scholars Program. Within her discipline, she is recognized as a thought leader for her Career Development, Mental Health, and Diversity Psychology work as a Fellow of the American Psychological Association. Dr. Ojeda is a Associate Professor and has been recognized by the American Psychological Association for her outstanding national contribution to the intersection of Diversity, Career Development, and Mental Health.
Dr. Ojeda's fellowship is supported by the Office for Diversity.


Head Shot of Srividhya Ragavan

Professor Srividhya Ragavan
School of Law Administrative Fellow
Professor and Director of India Programs, School of Law

Dr. Ragavan will work with the School of Law to expand and develop existing collaborations that she initiated between the School of Law and several universities in India. This includes joint programs and a pipeline program. Her previous leadership experience includes starting the first-ever intellectual property law center of India in what was her home institution. This is now a thriving center and engages law schools and scholars from across the globe. Dr. Ragavan is a Professor of Law specializing in intellectual property and international trade issues. Her research focuses on the interplay between international trade law and intellectual property issues with a developmental perspective.

Dr. Ragavan's fellowship is supported by ADVANCE.