Scroll back to the top

Workshop Committee

The ADVANCE Workshop Committee (formerly the STRIDE Committee) is composed of a team of faculty who help co-facilitate STRIDE workshops for faculty search committee members and the STRIPE workshops for promotion and tenure committee members. The committee meets once a month to discuss evidence-based studies on implicit bias as they relate to academic job searches and promotion review processes, to develop ways to improve the STRIDE and STRIPE workshops, and to brainstorm ways to improve the impact of these workshops on the university community.  
Jaime Alvarado-Bremer

Jaime Alvarado-Bremer

Professor of Marine Biology (TAMU-Galveston)
Email: alvaradj@tamug.edu


Frank B. Ashley III

Frank B. Ashley III

Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs (Bush School for Government and Public Service)
Email: fashley@tamu.edu


Debjyoti Banerjee

Debjyoti Banerjee

Professor of Mechanical Engineering (Engineering)
Email: dbanerjee@tamu.edu



Craig Coates

Craig Coates

Associate Dean for Inclusive Excellence (Agriculture and Life Sciences)
Email: c-coates@tamu.edu


Cecilia Giusti

Cecilia Giusti

Associate Dean for Outreach and Diversity (Architecture)
Email: c-giusti@tamu.edu


Yava L. Jones-Hall

Yava L. Jones-Hall

Associate Professor of Veterinary Pathobiology (Veterinary Medicine)
Email: yavajh@tamu.edu


Geoffrey (

Geoffrey ("Jeff") Kapler

Professor and Head of Molecular and Cellular Medicine (College of Medicine)
Email: gkapler@tamu.edu


Lisako McKyer

Lisako McKyer

Senior Associate Dean for Climate and Diversity (School of Public Health)
Email: lisako.mckyer@tamu.edu



Gabriela Marin Thornton

Gabriela Marin Thornton

Instructional Associate Professor of International Affairs (Bush School)
Email: gthornton@tamu.edu


Idia Thurston

Idia Thurston

Associate Professor of Psychology & Public Health (Liberal Arts/Public Health)
Email: idiathurston@tamu.edu


Radhika Viruru

Radhika Viruru

Clinical Professor of Teaching, Learning and Culture (Education)
Email: viruru@tamu.edu



X. Ben Wu

X. Ben Wu

Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs (Agriculture & Life Sciences)
Email: xbw@tamu.edu